Running costs and choosing a printer
Is XL Always Double the Standard Cartridge?
Short answer: no. Brother's and Epson's own declared yields show the jump from standard to XL running anywhere from 2 to 3.33 times the pages depending on the product line, and the multiplier is often different for black than for each color in the same set.
The short answer
No. "XL" and similar high-capacity suffixes never mean a fixed multiple of the standard cartridge. Each is a label one manufacturer put on one specific product. The only number that means anything is the declared page yield printed on that cartridge's own listing, tested against a stated standard — ISO/IEC 19752 for laser toner, ISO/IEC 24711 for inkjet cartridges. On one real Brother laser toner line, the step from standard to high-yield is 2.5 times the pages. On one real Brother inkjet set, the black cartridge exactly doubles at XL while each color cartridge more than triples. Step up to the larger size only for the specific line — black, or one color — where your own volume will use up the extra pages before you'd otherwise have bought a second standard cartridge, and check the declared yield on the exact part number every time, because the letters alone don't tell you.
A mono-laser family that doesn't double
Brother's TN830 toner line is listed for more than a dozen HL, DCP and MFC monochrome laser models. It has two published tiers, standard and high-yield, and Brother's own page for each cartridge states the declared yield and the exact printers it fits.
| Cartridge | Declared yield (ISO/IEC 19752) | Step up | Fits |
|---|---|---|---|
| TN830 (standard) | About 1,200 pages | — | 14 Brother HL/DCP/MFC L2000-series lines |
| TN830XL (high-yield) | About 3,000 pages | 2.5× TN830 | Same 14 lines as TN830 |
One thing follows from that table: the step from TN830 to TN830XL is 2.5 times the pages, not a clean doubling, and that's the only step Brother publishes for these 14 lines — there's no larger cartridge available for any of them, so standard versus XL is the entire decision. A separate Brother monochrome family, built around TN730, TN760 and TN770, covers a different set of models, including the HL-L2370DW and MFC-L2750DW; Brother's own page for that top tier states a declared yield of about 4,500 pages, tested under the same ISO/IEC 19752 standard. The two families don't overlap: a printer that takes TN830 or TN830XL doesn't take TN770, and a printer that takes TN770 doesn't take TN830 or TN830XL. Confirm which family and which tiers Brother lists for your exact model on that model's own product page, not from this table alone. That separate Brother laser family runs the same kind of check against TN730, TN760 and TN770.
An inkjet set where black and color step up differently
Brother's LC406 ink line, used on INKvestment all-in-one models such as the MFC-J4335DW, makes the second half of the question concrete: does every color need to move to XL, or just black? Brother publishes a yield for each of the eight individual cartridges.
| Cartridge (standard / XL) | Color | Standard yield (ISO/IEC 24711) | XL yield | Multiplier |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LC406BKS / LC406XLBKS | Black | 3,000 pages | 6,000 pages | 2.0× |
| LC406CS / LC406XLCS | Cyan | 1,500 pages | 5,000 pages | 3.33× |
| LC406MS / LC406XLMS | Magenta | 1,500 pages | 5,000 pages | 3.33× |
| LC406YS / LC406XLYS | Yellow | 1,500 pages | 5,000 pages | 3.33× |
Black exactly doubles. Each color more than triples. That matters because a single color page draws on all four cartridges at once — the set is exhausted by whichever cartridge empties first, not by an average across the four. Which cartridge empties first depends on what you print, which is why this isn't a one-line answer: get your own black-page and color-page counts, then work out the cost per page for each option before deciding. If your Brother inkjet takes a different LC number entirely, check which one and which capacity fits it first.
Get the split from your printer, not a guess
- Open your printer's own supply or ink-level screen — the control panel or its web interface — and note roughly how many pages you print in black only versus how many include color.
- Look up the standard and high-yield declared page count for your exact printer, for black and separately for each color, the way the two tables above do for the TN830 and LC406 lines.
- Divide price by declared yield for each option to get cost per page; this site's cost-per-page page walks through that calculation.
- Step up to the larger size only for the line — black or a specific color — whose volume will use up the extra pages before you'd have bought and installed a second standard cartridge anyway.
If you're not sure which cartridge number your printer takes at all, start with the manufacturer's own lookup for your exact model.
XL doesn't mean the same thing twice, even inside one brand
Brother reuses "XL" for something unrelated: some of its printer model names carry an XL suffix, like the HL-L2370DW XL, where it means a retail bundle with extra starter toner in the box — not a cartridge you buy separately later. Brother's own listing for that bundle states it ships with roughly 7,500 pages of toner from two cartridges included together in the box. On the MFC-L2820DW XL bundle, Brother states the box includes a standard (1,200-page) and a high-yield (3,000-page) cartridge together, about 4,200 pages combined, against roughly 700 pages from the single starter cartridge in the plain MFC-L2820DW. An in-box starter cartridge is routinely smaller than anything you'd buy separately later, XL-bundled printer or not — don't judge a printer's ongoing cost from what's in the box.
| System | How capacity is named | What the manufacturer's own pages say |
|---|---|---|
| Brother TN830 toner family | Cartridge suffix (standard / XL) | 1,200 to 3,000 pages — 2.5×, not a doubling |
| Brother LC406 ink family | Cartridge suffix (standard / XL) | Black 2.0×; each color about 3.33× |
| Epson EcoTank bottles | No suffix — a separate bottle number per capacity family | 502 and 542 (Epson's Ultra-High Capacity tier) are separate, non-overlapping model lists |
| Epson ink cartridges (e.g. 288) | Cartridge suffix (XL, or XXL on some other lines) | Epson's own 288XL listing states 2.5 times more prints than the standard 288 |
| HP ink cartridges | Cartridge suffix (XL) | HP's own comparison page confirms the convention (example given: HP 301 vs. HP 301XL) but does not publish a universal ratio |
If your printer fills from Epson EcoTank bottles rather than cartridges, the suffix system in that table doesn't apply at all: Epson uses an entirely different bottle number for its higher-capacity line, and the two bottle families fit different printer lists, as this site's EcoTank ink bottles page covers in full. Budget for the maintenance box too — a separate, occasional cost the bottle price doesn't include. Epson's separate ink-cartridge lines, like the 288, do use XL and XXL instead; check the exact number your Epson model takes rather than assume. If a cartridge that used to work has suddenly stopped, that's a separate problem from sizing: see this site's page on HP's non-HP chip message or, on an HP+ printer, the HP+ page.
Two things the suffix will never tell you
A declared yield is a lab result under a stated standard, not a promise about your next print job — a page heavy with ink coverage uses more ink than a mostly blank one, whatever size cartridge it comes from. And every cartridge or bottle carries its own use-by or install-by date, printed on the packaging or readable off its chip. That's a real reason not to buy the largest size for a color you barely use: a jumbo cartridge sitting in a drawer for a couple of years can reach that date before you empty it. Check the date on the specific package in front of you; manufacturers set it per batch, not per product line.
If your printer is a different brand entirely, such as Canon, the rule doesn't change: check that manufacturer's own listing for your exact cartridge's declared yield rather than assume a multiplier from the letters. This site's Canon black-ink page covers which tank a PIXMA takes, pigment or dye, as a starting point. And if you print only a handful of pages some months, see this site's page on buying for light, occasional printing before committing to any high-capacity cartridge at all.
Check it on your own equipment
These take you to the manufacturers and standards bodies the page draws on, so you can look up your exact model.
- Manufacturer specification
Brother's LC406 listing for the MFC-J4335DW (opens in a new tab)Brother's own standard and XL ink cartridge numbers and declared page yields, listed separately for black and for each color, for this exact printer. — www.brother-usa.com - Manufacturer specification
Brother's TN830XL toner listing (opens in a new tab)The declared yield and the full list of monochrome laser printers Brother lists as compatible with this cartridge. — www.brother-usa.com - Manufacturer specification
Epson's 288XL cartridge listing (opens in a new tab)Epson's own capacity claim for the 288XL against the standard 288, and the printers it fits. — epson.com - Manufacturer specification
Epson's EcoTank 542 bottle listing (opens in a new tab)Epson's Ultra-High Capacity EcoTank bottle line and the separate list of printers it fits, distinct from the 502 bottles. — epson.com
What this page does not tell you
- Declared yields and compatible-model lists are checked against Brother's TN830, TN830XL, TN770, TN730, LC406 and LC406XL pages, and against Epson's 288XL, 502, 542 and 812XXL pages, as of the access date; both manufacturers revise product lines, so reconfirm on the cartridge's own page before ordering.
- This page does not state Canon's or HP's specific standard-to-XL capacity ratio. HP's own site confirms its general XL naming convention (but not a ratio); Canon's own documentation could not be opened during research, so no Canon-specific claim is made.
- Declared yields are laboratory results measured under a stated ISO/IEC standard, not a guarantee for any specific document; actual pages per cartridge vary with what is printed.
- Specific ink or toner use-by/install-by durations (such as a number of months after opening) are not stated on this page because no manufacturer page confirming an exact duration could be opened during research; the page tells readers to check the date on their own packaging instead.
Sources
20 documents, each with the facts on this page it supports. Manufacturers revise specifications, so every source is dated — open it before you buy.
- The TN830 standard toner cartridge has a declared yield of about 1,200 pages, tested in accordance with ISO/IEC 19752 (Letter/A4).
- The TN830XL high-yield toner cartridge has a declared yield of about 3,000 pages, tested in accordance with ISO/IEC 19752 (Letter/A4).
- TN830 and TN830XL are each listed by Brother as compatible with the same 17 printer entries, covering 14 distinct HL/DCP/MFC monochrome laser lines (three entries are 'XL'-named retail bundles of the same physical printer as a non-XL entry on the list).
- TN830XL's declared yield is 2.5 times TN830's declared yield (3,000 ÷ 1,200).
- The TN770 toner cartridge has a declared yield of about 4,500 pages, tested in accordance with ISO/IEC 19752 (Letter/A4).
- The TN770 is listed by Brother as compatible with 4 printer entries — HL-L2370DW, HL-L2370DW XL, MFC-L2750DW and MFC-L2750DW XL — and none of those entries appear on the TN830 or TN830XL compatible-models list.
- Brother's TN730 toner cartridge page lists 12 compatible entries, including both HL-L2370DW and MFC-L2750DW, confirming those two printer lines belong to a separate Brother monochrome family (TN730/TN760/TN770) rather than the TN830 family.
- The LC406BKS standard-yield black ink cartridge has a declared yield of up to 3,000 pages, tested in accordance with ISO/IEC 24711 (letter/A4).
- All eight LC406/LC406XL cartridges are listed by Brother as compatible with the same seven INKvestment models: MFC-J4335DW, MFC-J4345DW XL, MFC-J4535DW, MFC-J5855DW, MFC-J5955DW, MFC-J6555DW and MFC-J6955DW.
- The LC406CS standard-yield cyan ink cartridge has a declared yield of up to 1,500 pages, tested in accordance with ISO/IEC 24711 (letter/A4).
- The LC406MS standard-yield magenta ink cartridge has a declared yield of up to 1,500 pages, tested in accordance with ISO/IEC 24711 (letter/A4).
- The LC406YS standard-yield yellow ink cartridge has a declared yield of up to 1,500 pages, tested in accordance with ISO/IEC 24711 (letter/A4).
- The LC406XLBKS high-yield black ink cartridge has a declared yield of up to 6,000 pages, tested in accordance with ISO/IEC 24711 (letter/A4).
- LC406XLBKS's declared yield is 2.0 times LC406BKS's declared yield (6,000 ÷ 3,000).
- The LC406XLCS high-yield cyan ink cartridge has a declared yield of up to 5,000 pages, tested in accordance with ISO/IEC 24711 (letter/A4).
- The LC406XLMS high-yield magenta ink cartridge has a declared yield of up to 5,000 pages, tested in accordance with ISO/IEC 24711 (letter/A4).
- Each LC406XL color cartridge's declared yield is about 3.33 times the matching standard color cartridge's (5,000 ÷ 1,500), for cyan, magenta and yellow alike.
- The LC406XLYS high-yield yellow ink cartridge has a declared yield of up to 5,000 pages, tested in accordance with ISO/IEC 24711 (letter/A4).
- A color print job draws on all four ink or toner positions in the same pass, so a four-cartridge set is exhausted when its first color runs out, not at an average level across the four.
- Brother's HL-L2370DW XL is a printer bundle name (not a cartridge name) where 'XL' denotes an Extended Print bundle with extra starter toner included in the box.
- Brother states the HL-L2370DW XL bundle ships with about 7,500 pages of in-box toner, combined from a high-yield TN-760 and a TN-770 cartridge included together.
- Brother states the MFC-L2820DW XL bundle includes six times more in-box toner than the plain MFC-L2820DW, about 4,200 pages, from an included standard (1,200-page) and high-yield (3,000-page) cartridge together, versus about 700 pages from the plain model's single starter cartridge.
- Epson's EcoTank ink bottles use no XL/XXL suffix; capacity tiers are instead separate bottle-number families — the 502 bottles and the 542 (Epson's own 'Ultra-High Capacity' tier) bottles.
- The Epson 502 bottle family's compatible-model list does not overlap with the 542 family's compatible-model list.
- Epson's separate ink-cartridge lines (as opposed to EcoTank bottles) do use XL and XXL suffixes — for example the 288 line has a 288XL variant, and the 812 line has an 812XXL 'Ultra Extra High-Capacity' variant.
- Epson's own 288XL black cartridge listing states the 288XL delivers 2.5 times more prints than the standard 288, without giving an absolute page count on that specific page.
- HP's own comparison page states HP identifies high-yield ink cartridges with an XL suffix after the model number, giving the example of the standard HP 301 versus the HP 301XL, each carrying its own part number, with the XL holding more ink.
- That same HP page does not state a universal or numeric ratio between standard and XL capacity; it describes the mechanism without quantifying it.